This website uses cookies

Cookies help us provide, protect and improve our services. We also use cookies to verify your financial information and identity and for fraud prevention purposes. Third parties use cookies on our site to tailor adverts to your interests on third party websites, by tracking your online activity on our website and third party websites. By scrolling, clicking or navigating our site, you consent to this use of cookies in accordance with our Cookies policy, which includes details of how you can change your cookie settings.
Accept & Close

Click here to view your promotions

Promotions Promotions

PDC World Championships Betting

PDC World Darts Championship Betting

The World Darts Championship is the highlight of the PDC calendar and takes place over Christmas and New Year at the Alexandra Palace in London.

... Read more

 Since it was first held at the Circus Tavern in 1994 following the much-publisiced breakaway from the British Darts Organisation, only seven different players have lifted the world title thanks largely to darts legend Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor winning it no fewer than 14 times during his astonishing career. He also won the BDO version twice before the split to make it 16 times in total.

Dennis Priestley beat Phil Taylor 6-1 in the first final before The Power’s era of dominance began with eight straight world championships before Canada’s John Part famously defeated him 7-6 in a classic in 2003 – much to the bookmaker’s relief as the betting favoured Taylor!

Three more crowns followed for perennial odds-on favourite Taylor before Raymond van Barneveld triumphed 7-6 in another unforgettable final, while John Part’s victory over Kirk Shepherd in 2008 was the first time The Power failed to reach the final in the tournament’s history. It was also the year the event switched to the Alexandra Palace.

A resurgent Phil Taylor claimed back-to-back titles in 2009 and 2010 before Adrian ‘Jackpot’ Lewis emerged on the world stage by beating Gary Anderson in the 2011 final before repeating the trick against Andy Hamilton 12 months later.

Phil Taylor reassured the doubters he could still win world titles by clinching his 14th crown against Michael van Gerwen, who bounced back to lift the trophy in 2014 with victory over Peter Wright.

Mighty Mike was the hot bookies favourite to win again a year later but didn’t even make the final as Gary Anderson held his nerve to sink Phil Taylor 7-6 for his first world championship title.

A popular market to bet on is whether there will be a nine-dart finish although the world championship had to wait until Raymond van Barneveld’s effort in 2009 for its first.

There have been seven since then, although four of those have been in vain during defeats, while Phil Taylor has never hit one in this tournament.

The Professional Darts Corporation (PDC), which was initially established in 1992 as the World Darts Council, holds many other big televised tournaments every year including the UK Open, the World Matchplay and the World Grand Prix as well as the Premier League Darts series which takes place on Thursday nights from February through to May.

PDC World Darts Championship Finals

  1. 1994 – Dennis Priestley 6-1 Phil Taylor
  2. 1995 – Phil Taylor 6-2 Rod Harrington
  3. 1996 – Phil Taylor 6-4 Dennis Priestley
  4. 1997 – Phil Taylor 6-3 Dennis Priestley
  5. 1998 – Phil Taylor 6-0 Dennis Priestley
  6. 1999 – Phil Taylor 6-2 Peter Manley
  7. 2000 – Phil Taylor 7-3 Dennis Priestley
  8. 2001 – Phil Taylor 7-0 John Part
  9. 2002 – Phil Taylor 7-0 Peter Manley
  10. 2003 – John Part 7-6 Phil Taylor
  11. 2004 – Phil Taylor 7-6 Kevin Painter
  12. 2005 – Phil Taylor 7-4 Mark Dudbridge
  13. 2006 – Phil Taylor 7-0 Peter Manley
  14. 2007 – Raymond van Barneveld 7-6 Phil Taylor
  15. 2008 – John Part 7-2 Kirk Shepherd
  16. 2009 – Phil Taylor 7-1 Raymond van Barneveld
  17. 2010 – Phil Taylor 7-3 Simon Whitlock
  18. 2011 – Adrian Lewis 7-5 Gary Anderson
  19. 2012 – Adrian Lewis 7-3 Andy Hamilton
  20. 2013 – Phil Taylor 7-4 Michael van Gerwen
  21. 2014 – Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Peter Wright
  22. 2015 – Gary Anderson 7-6 Phil Taylor

PDC World Darts Championship Most Titles

  1. Phil Taylor – 14
  2. John Part – 2
  3. Adrian Lewis – 2
  4. Dennis Priestly – 1
  5. Raymond van Barneveld – 1
  6. Michael van Gerwen – 1
  7. Gary Anderson – 1

PDC World Darts Championship Nine-Dart Finishes

  • Raymond van Barneveld – 2009 (QF v win v Jelle Klaasen)
  • Raymond van Barneveld – 2010 (2nd Rd win v Brendan Dolan)
  • Adrian Lewis – 2011 (Final win v Gary Anderson)
  • Dean Winstanley – 2013 (2nd Rd loss v Vincent van der Voort)
  • Michael van Gerwen – 2013 (SF win v James Wade)
  • Terry Jenkins – 2014 (1st Rd loss v Per Laursen)
  • Kyle Anderson – 2014 (1st Rd loss v Ian White)
  • Adrian Lewis – 2015 (3rd Rd loss v Raymond van Barneveld)

PDC Darts Betting