Click here to view your promotions

Promotions Promotions

Ashes Betting Odds

The Ashes Odds

Get the latest Ashes betting information for the Australia v England Ashes series, enjoy the best Ashes odds and find free betting tips from our experienced cricket pundits.

Our easy to use website gives you access to a large choice of... Read more

Our easy to use website gives you access to a large choice of Ashes markets making it easy for you to back your favourite team over the course of the series thanks to our vast number of betting opportunities.

History of The Ashes

The Ashes remains the oldest international fixture of all.

Australia won the inaugural match in Melbourne in 1877 but the origins of one of the greatest sporting rivalries of all was officially born five years later when the tourists, led by WL Murdoch, inflicted a first home defeat on England at the Oval.

The shockwaves prompted a mock obituary  in the Sporting Times which read "in affectionate remembrance of English cricket, which died at the Oval on 29th August, 1882". 

This led to a group of Australian ladies  presenting the then English captain, the Hon Ivo Bligh, with a small urn containing the Ashes of a bail - the prize that is still played for today.

The Ashes since 2005

England finally ended Australia's 16 years of domination in 2005 when Michael Vaughan's side regained the Ashes in one of the most dramatic series of all time. What made it even more remarkable was the way England bounced back from defeat in the 1st Test to finally claim a 2-1 series success courtesy of a maiden century from Kevin Pietersen at The Oval.

But the joy turned to despair two years later when on home soil Australia, inspired by Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath, routed England 5-0, the first whitewash in Ashes cricket since 1920/21. 

In 2009, the pendulum swung back in England's favour as they snatched another thrilling 2-1 success this time it was the turn of Freddie Flintoff to write his name into Ashes folklore with a spectacular display with both bat and ball.

Andrew Strauss's men maintained their grip on the urn two years later but this time they secured their first series win away from home since 1986/87 in superb style.

Alastair Cook led the way for England with 766 runs, the most by England player since 1928/29, while James Anderson took 24 wickets as England ended their barren run Down Under with a 3-1 victory.

In 2013, England recorded their third successive series win with a 3-0 victory. This was the first time Australia had failed to win a Test in an Ashes series since 1977.

However, Australia bounced back in stunning fashion just a few months later by thoroughly out-playing England to record a second 5-0 whitewash in the last three Ashes series Down Under. 

Recent Ashes Series Results

  • 1989 Australia 4-0
  • 1990/91 Australia 3-0
  • 1993 Australia 4-1
  • 1994/95 Australia 3-1
  • 1997 Australia 3-2
  • 1998/99 Australia 3-1
  • 2001 Australia 4-1
  • 2002/03 Australia 4-1
  • 2005 England 2-1
  • 2006/07 Australia 5-0
  • 2009 England 2-1
  • 2010/11 England 3-1
  • 2013 England 3-0
  • 2013/14 Australia 5-0

For more Ashes betting and odds see: